Today, Snap announced that it is introducing a new feature called Clear Chats. Users will now be able to delete sent messages in individual and group texts, regardless of whether they’ve been viewed or saved. This allows you to fix a typo or just retract a message that you sent inadvertently.In the past, messages would only self-destruct after everyone in a chat group (whether it was one person or more) read it. Now, following the latest Snapchat update, users can press and hold on a message and select “delete” in any chat.
When a message is deleted, other users in the same chat will be notified that a message was deleted. This small detail will hopefully prevent chaos from breaking out in chat threads and add a small layer of transparency so that everyone can keep up with the conversation.
In order to delete a message, go to the message or conversation where the item in question was sent. Long press on the message or media (sticker, audio or video, etc.) and tap “Delete.” The message will be gone, and friends in the individual or group conversation will be alerted that a message was deleted.
The Clear Chats feature could make people more comfortable sending sensitive information over Snapchat. The app already auto-deletes messages after they’re viewed, unless a recipient chooses to screenshot or Save them, which their conversation partner can see.