WhatsApp acknowledges bug that lets ‘blocked’ contacts message and call you

Instant messaging platform WhatsApp is plagued with a major bug that allows users to message you even after you’ve blocked them.

In addition to messaging, the loophole – which is present on both Android and iOS clients of the service – allows blocked contacts to see your status and profile details as well.

Like the vast majority of social networks, the Facebook-owned app lets you block unknown numbers and people from your contacts.

This essentially restricts all forms of communication between you and the blocked user: they won’t be able to call, message, peep your last seen info or changes to your profile photo, and view your status updates.

The problem has a quick solution: unblock the contact and block them again. However, not many users are aware of the workaround.

Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on LinkedInPin it on PinterestSubmit to redditSubmit to StumbleUponShare on Tumblr

Written by admin

Leave a Reply